Salem DUI Lawyer

New Hampshire has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country and harshest penalties. If you are facing a driving under the influence charge in Salem, you may need immediate assistance from an experienced attorney. A Salem DUI lawyer may be able to work with you to build a strong defense and properly represent you in court. Contact an attorney today.

Categories of DUI

New Hampshire has several categories for DUI offenses based on the circumstances of the case. A first-offense DUI conviction is treated less harshly than subsequent convictions unless it is considered an aggravated DUI.

An aggravated DUI charge can be triggered driving with a blood alcohol content level above the legal limit combined with:

  • Excessive speeding (30 miles per hour or more over the limit)
  • Driving with a minor in the vehicle
  • Causing serious bodily injury to others
  • Evading law enforcement officers
  • Having an excessively high BAC level

BAC Limits in New Hampshire

In general, a blood alcohol content level of more than 0.08 percent could automatically be considered a DUI under New Hampshire law, but it is possible to be charged with a DUI based simply upon police interpretations of a field sobriety test. In other words, drivers could potentially face DUI charges without ever having a BAC above the legal limit.

Minors can automatically be charged with a DUI in New Hampshire with as little as 0.02 percent BAC, since it is not legal for drivers under age 21 to have any alcohol in their system at all. Commercial drivers also have a more stringent limit, with anything above a 0.04 percent BAC constituting a DUI.

Salem DUI Penalties

Penalties for DUI in Salem are very strict, including mandatory jail time and minimum sentences, hefty fines, and lengthy license loss.

A first offense DUI that does not constitute an aggravated DUI is punishable by a fine of up to $1,200. This offense is considered a class B misdemeanor and does not carry a jail sentence, but a driver still stands to lose their license for anywhere from nine months to two years.

Under certain circumstances, a DUI attorney may be able to persuade the judge to suspend up to six months of the loss of license. Therefore, it is possible for the first-time offender to get their license back after three months with the help of a skilled Salem DUI lawyer.

Aggravated Convictions

An aggravated DUI conviction carries a penalty of up to one year in jail with a minimum of five days of jail time served, as well as fines of up to $2,000. Aggravated DUI is considered a class A misdemeanor, but if anyone suffers serious bodily injury as a result of the DUI, the offense becomes a class B felony, with a penalty increase of up to $4,000 in fines and a possibility of seven years in jail.

There is a mandatory minimum of 14 days in jail for aggravated DUI offenders in Salem. Aggravated DUI offenders in Salem may also lose their license for up to two years.

Speak with a Salem DUI Attorney Today

No matter the circumstances that led to your DUI arrest, a skilled Salem DUI lawyer could help you fight the charges. A passionate attorney may be able to work with you to build a strong defense. Call today to see what options and potential legal defenses you may have at your disposal.