New Hampshire Prostitution Lawyer
In New Hampshire, like most other states in the country, the act of selling sex is prohibited, as well as the act of benefiting from any aspect of the commercial sex trade. There are several crimes that fall under the umbrella of these types of acts that would be forbidden under state law.
These crimes include prostitution, pimping or pandering, and sex trafficking, whether one is the person providing services or receiving them. While prostitution and pimping are themselves misdemeanors, sex trafficking offenses are considered felonies. Each carry not only hefty fines and potential jail terms, but depending on the specifics of the case, can preclude one from seeking certain employment opportunities have bad social consequences in their community.
Due to these extremely serious consequences, if you have been charged with one of these crimes, you should get the services of a New Hampshire prostitution attorney as soon as possible. An experienced defense attorney can help to build your defense right away.
Prostitution Laws in New Hampshire
Prostitution forbids any sexual activity that involves the solicitation for payment, payment, agreement to pay or be paid, or offering of any payment in exchange for sexual activity.
Although prostitution is considered a misdemeanor, it is punished in New Hampshire with up to a $2,000 fine and as much as a year in jail. Those convicted of the crime are also prohibited from holding public school or school district jobs anywhere in the state, making it imperative that those accused seek the legal assistance of a New Hampshire prostitution lawyer as soon as possible to protect themselves.
Promoting prostitution or deriving some type of financial gain from arranging the exchange of sexual favors for money, also known as pandering or pimping, is also strictly forbidden under New Hampshire Law. In the case of the promotion of prostitution, the burden falls on the prosecuting attorney to prove that the pimp was the one facilitating the exchange of sex for money.
New Hampshire Revised Statute calls for the prosecution of those found to have trafficked an individual for prostitution, who provide a dwelling in which the transactions take place, or live wholly off the earnings they make from prostituting others.
If convicted, pimps stand to be fined up to $2,000 and may be required to spend as much as a year in jail. They too are not allowed to ever hold a public school or school district job anywhere in the state of New Hampshire and should therefore consult with a New Hampshire prostitution lawyer immediately to begin building a defense.
In cases in which a child under the age of 18 is either recruited or trafficked for the purpose of compelling them to participate in prostitution in New Hampshire, such a crime is referred to as child prostitution.
Because of the aggravated nature of this type, not only is the charge upgraded to a Class B felony charge, but carries a fine of as much as $4,000 and a punishment as long as seven years in prison. Those convicted of this crime are required to register as a sex offender as well.
Working with a Prostitution Attorney
Restrictions imposed on those charged with prostitution, pandering, or sex trafficking can greatly impact one’s life unless they are dealt with a clear defense strategy in mind.
If you have been charged with one of these crimes, contact a New Hampshire prostitution attorney right away to discuss the details of your case and to discuss potential strategies for addressing your case.