New Hampshire Sex Offender Registry

New Hampshire takes sex offender registration very seriously and violators are subject to strict penalties. New Hampshire has a compliance unit to enforce its sex offender registry requirements. If you or a loved one have been convicted of a sex offense in New Hampshire or are required to register in the state as a sex offender, a lawyer experienced in filling out the New Hampshire sex offender registry can help protect your rights.

A skilled sex crimes lawyer understands that even though the sex offender’s registry serves an important purpose in protecting the public, persons convicted of sex offenses still have rights. A sex offender’s status on the state registry can definitely impact their employment, housing, reputation in the community, and continued freedom. For this reason, it is important to make sure that a sex offender complies with the legal requirements.

Common Offenses Requiring Registration

The New Hampshire sex offender registry mirrors the federal requirements. Persons convicted of a number of different types of offenses may be required to register as a sex offender in the state, including, but not limited to those convicted of:

  • Kidnapping
  • Sexual assault
  • Rape
  • Sexual abuse
  • Statutory rape
  • Invasion of privacy through the use of recording devices
  • Child pornography
  • Solicitation of a child
  • Sex trafficking
  • Certain prostitution-related offenses
  • Indecent exposure
  • Contributing to the delinquency of a minor

New Hampshire Sex Offender Registration Facts

New Hampshire has fewer sex offenders than most other New England states, averaging about 2,500 sex offender registrants at any given time. Active registration may change as the number of incarcerated individuals fluctuates. Individuals who are considered sex offenders in New Hampshire are required to remain on the state registry for between 10 years and a lifetime registry requirement, depending on the type of offense.

New Hampshire maintains a tiered system of sex offender registration, with less serious offenses listed in tier one and requiring a 10-year registration, and the most serious offenses, such as those involving murder, extreme violence, or repeat offenses, requiring a lifetime registration. No matter how serious the offense required to comply with the New Hampshire sex offender registration, an experienced attorney can help.

Impact of Conviction

Someone convicted of offenses requiring sex offender registration may wonder what types of information will be available on the registry.

When filling out the New Hampshire sex offender registry, one must provide:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Landlord’s contact information
  • Offender’s birth date
  • Place of employment
  • Information about any ongoing volunteer work, education, or recreation where minors may be present
  • Professional licenses and certifications
  • Vehicle information including license plate and registration details
  • Driver’s license number
  • Social Security number
  • A recent photograph
  • Fingerprints and DNA
  • A physical description including any tattoos and scars
  • Telephone numbers including cell phones
  • Online identifiers, such as email addresses, handles and screen names

Sex Offender Registry Compliance

In addition to providing this very sensitive information, an individual on the New Hampshire sex offender registry must be available for random inspections, compliance checks, and drop-ins by investigators. Failure to comply with registration requirements will constitute a violation of probation or parole and can land the offender back in jail. A skilled defense attorney can help offenders make sure that they are in compliance with the law and avoid a violation.